What is stress???

This term stress…. personally, I don’t exactly understand what it is. I looked it up in the dictionary. It said something like “mental, emotional, physical strain or tension.” which I can grasp. Then there is Wikipedia’s version here:

“In psychology, stress is a concept about condition that can be described as: feeling of strain and pressure, feeling of anxiety and being overwhelmed, overall irritability, feeling of insecure, nervousness, social withdrawal, loss of appetite, depression, panic attacks, exhaustion, high or low blood pressure, skin problems, insomnia, lack of sexual desire (sexual dysfunction), migraine, gastrointestinal problems (constipation or diarrhea), and for women menstrual problems, may cause more serious conditions like heart problems.”

To me, the above reads something like this in my head; If you have this thing called stress… you’re basically doomed… GG! Which in fact really isn’t the case , but it seems like people who are “stressed-out” often feels like it’s the end of the world and if either the government or God doesn’t fix it, then they should probably kill themselves-kinda severity.

However, going to my very first statement earlier, I do not understand what stress really is. To me, I know I get worried or even anxious sometimes. But to stress about something doesn’t really make much sense to me. If I ever find myself in situations where people often believe that they are stressful… I’m usually either…. “Fcuk… oh well… nothing I can do to change it…” or I am… “Hmm… what can I do to change it and make it better??? Hmm….”

So basically, if I ever find myself in Chicken Little’s conundrum and apply my above reactions, I’m sure that you will either see a Chicken Little drinking tea and coffee while admiring the sunset, making the most of the moment all before the sky falls down… or else the Chicken Little who is making a bomb shelter or a rocket ship out to space… with a wrench in hand and engineering goggles on his forehead… you know… something stupid like that…

For some weird reason, a favourite question interviewers enjoy asking me is, ‘When you get stressed, what do you usually do???
Then the same thought conversations start occurring in my head. What do you mean when I get stressed? I don’t get stressed… What do you mean by getting stressed. What kind of answer are they expecting me to reply? Is stress common in people? I thought it was some kinda sickness… or allergy… who knows. Do I answer them that I don’t really get stressed? Or do I reply them with some kind of answer the norm usually replies with? Should I look like It’s not a matter I’m concerned with? Or should I make it look like it’s something I deal with everyday but is fully under my control and I can whip it how ever I like? Hmm…
After the heavy but brief conversation with myself, I usually look them in the eyes… smile… and say ‘oh.. I just either watch a movie or listen to music…’
I get a blank stare in reply most of the time, and then they move on to the next question. Maybe that’s too much of a standard answer, I dunno.

I think though… maybe it’s not something I have come across. Maybe it will find it sometime down the track… but so far as I’m going… and from what I hear from other people… I hope it will never find me… D:

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

