Wise words from Marcus

Just now after I came back from work, I started watching Black Sails. In the scene where Miranda suggested to Guthrie that he may find the book written by Marcus Aurelius to be insightful. And a bit later, she reads him a passage from the book which resonated to my thoughts recently.

Be like a rocky promontory against which the restless surf continuously pounds; it stands fast while the churning sea is lulled to sleep at its feet. I hear you say, “How unlucky that this should happen to me!” Not at all! Say instead, “How lucky I am that I am not broken by what has happened and am not afraid of what is about to happen. The same blow might have struck any one, but not many would have absorbed it without capitulation and complaint.

No matter which perspective I take, I can’t deny that I am more the wiser.

  1. I’ve read something recently that you might find useful – stoicism. I picked this up along the way of listening to Tim Ferriss’ podcasts, something which I think you’ll also find interesting.

    I think if you start looking for where you are content in your life, you might find it easier to be content with other things, and hopefully a positive loop starts there – but it does start with a less serious and more experimental mindset 🙂 I wholeheartedly agree with you on your approach on things you are struggling with because I was there too, but I think you too will find peace with it like me, once you’ve realized that you can only control so much, and doing your best is actually good enough. The journey is in most cases more important than the end point!

    See you soon mate

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

